How awesome are Kosher Toasted Coconut Marshmallows?

This is the time of the year when most supermarkets stock up on and showcase kosher goods. I generally do not eat kosher foods, mainly for the reason that it is not part of my faith and foreign to me.

My recent trip to the Congregation Gates of Heaven Jewish Food festival allowed me to try many foods which I would have otherwise not have tried, and, as you’ve read, I enjoyed many of those new foods.

But there’s one kosher food that I buy every year at my local supermarket when it is out on display for Passover. That food is toasted coconut marshmallows.

Actually, I usually buy the¬†Manischewitz brand, but, I read the label on these, and found that these are actually distributed by Manischewitz. Notice they’re marked $2.79 at my local Price Chopper. Today they were on sale for $1.99 while the actual Manischewitz label were not on sale today. I really don’t think they can be that different.

Speaking of the label:

A look through the ingredients would puzzle many people. Instead of the commonly observed “corn syrup,” these use actual glucose for sweetness. Also, this product specifically mentions, twice (including once in bold), that fish gelatin is used in the production of these. As a matter of fact, these two notable ingredients are what make these delicious snacks kosher.

The appearance of these is like a tiny pillow, and they are also like a pillow texturally, after you get through the light coating of toasted coconut. They are nowhere near as sticky as a conventional marshmallow and also nowhere near as sweet on the¬†palate. They taste nothing like fish, so they’re nothing to be afraid of.

My supermarket doesn’t stock these for the remainder of the year, and that’s probably a good thing (for me).

Get yourself down to the store and throw down the $2 or $3 to get yourself a bag of these. You won’t be sorry!


Advertisement

4 thoughts on “How awesome are Kosher Toasted Coconut Marshmallows?

  • Darth

    The glucose and fish has nothing to do with making it kosher. What makes something kosher is simply the fact that it was made using kosher standards and follows certain guildlines. Actually ingredients specifically don’t make something kosher per say. Although certain ones could make it not kosher – like pork or shellfish.

    The use of glucose instead of corn syrup is what allows them to be kosher for Passover. Corn Syrup is forbidden during Passover since it’s from a grain. However good old sugar is not.

    That’s why this time of the year is when you can get Coca-Cola with the yellow caps on them. They are made with real sugar instead of corn syrup so they’re safe for Passover consumption.

    BTW – you probably eat more kosher food than you know of.


  • ro

    Jerry,

    Imagine how delish SMORES are with these marshmallows!?!



Advertisement

Leave a Reply